Self-Created Content

Tool: Jing – Screencast.com

URL: http://www.screencast.com/t/1N8otM0UwF

Target course: Physical Geography

Unit: Earth-Sun Relations/Standard Time

I had seen a demonstration of Jing a while ago, but this was my first time actually using the tool. The learning curve was not steep. The process involved: i) Downloading the software, ii) Watching the short video tutorial (essential in retrospect), iii) Trying out the creation of a sample video, and  iv) Creating and uploading my content.

I will use this tool to create short tutorials for solving geographic word problems in my Physical Geography courses. I could also use it to create short software tutorials for my GIS (Geographic Information Systems) courses. A follow up step would be to work with our access and disabilities office to create captions in order to conform with universal design.

Leave a Reply

